helpline 01494 601 400
2 April 2015

Electricity scoops best screenplay

Electricity, a film about epilepsy starring Agyness Deyn, has won best screenplay at the first annual National Film Awards UK, despite being up against blockbusters such as The Theory of Everything and The Fault in our Stars.

The awards evening staged by The National Film Academy on 31 March is one of the only motion picture awards ceremony whose nominations and voting are fully determined by movie fans. 

Epilepsy Society worked with Stone City Films to advise on the film's representation of seizures and the impact that they can have on a person's life and is delighted the film has been so well received. The award-winning screenplay was written by Joe Fisher and the film's director was Bryn Higgins, who also produced the film with Clare Duggan. 

Electricity is based on the debut novel by Ray Robinson and is both an intimate and candid portrayal of epilepsy through the eyes of Lily O'Connor played by Agyness Deyn about a young woman's struggle to find her long lost brother while coping with uncontrolled seizures.

Read more about Electricity  or buy the book and DVD (opens new window).